Yale's Minimum GRE for MA > Mine. Apply Anyway?

kdavid

I'm interested in Yale's MA in East Asian Studies as a back-up in case I don't get into a good PhD program for Chinese History.

Unfortunately, the department's website states the minimum GRE score is 308, and my combined score is a 304--though I did get a 5 on the writing.

I believe my background is unique (I've lived in China for seven years, have an MA from a mainland university) and that language skills are very strong (my Mandarin, reading and speaking, is impeccable).

I'll also have a strong writing sample grounded in original research. As such, I believe that aside from my GRE scores, I'm an excellent fit for the MA program.

Should I go ahead and apply anyway, or will my scores eliminate me from consideration?

While I can't speak for Yale (and thus can't answer your question directly) I think your best option would be to try and raise your score by retaking the exam if at all possible. The conventional wisdom is that a strong showing on the GRE won't get you into a program but a low score will keep you out.

I would contact Yale and find out if that line is an absolute cut off (as the GPA can be for some) set by the university, or whether they have considered people who didn't quite meet that requirement.

Hi kdavid, 

I applied to Yale's history MA program last year and was admitted for this fall. I did not do well on the GRE's quantitative and or verbal portions but did well on the written (like you). I definitely think you should apply, and you have a good chance of being admitted! Will you have strong letters of recommendation?

• 3 weeks later...

Hi kdavid, 

I applied to Yale's history MA program last year and was admitted for this fall. I did not do well on the GRE's quantitative and or verbal portions but did well on the written (like you). I definitely think you should apply, and you have a good chance of being admitted! Will you have strong letters of recommendation?

Hi Thumbelina: