Historic Preservation -- Lots of Questions!

rlmcman

Hello, all!

I'm a prospective student of historic preservation with lots of questions for anyone who's been through the process or is/was in the profession. First, I'm curious as to what outside fields people studied before they jumped over to HP. My BA was in Ancient Mediterranean Studies (essentially Classics plus lots of archaeology) and, while I can make a good case as to why I'm pursuing graduate studies in HP rather than Classics, I'm still worried I won't have an edge on other applicants because I'm from such a narrow field.

Second: I've noticed that there are well-thought-of programs that offer MSc degrees, some which offer MA's, and some which don't specify. Does it make a difference? I'm interested in a conservation emphasis so it makes sense to me to go after the MSc... but does it really matter after school?

Third: I am a resident of Georgia and so the cheapest programs for me are, of course, here in Georgia. Any thoughts on the UGA program? I know it's no Columbia or UPenn or Cornell, but there's a $90k difference due to in-state tuition! As I've seen on other posts, SCAD is absolutely out of the question and GSU doesn't seem impressive in the least.

Fourth: Is anyone aware of programs particularly strong in or focused on adaptive reuse, or is that wrapped into most programs?

And finally (for now! :P), what have people's experiences with funding been like? I put myself through undergrad and have $40k in debt already. Attending a great program but adding another $50k in debt is not an option. That's not to say that I don't plan on taking out more loans, but I'd like to take out as few as possible.

Thanks in advance to everyone!!!

• 1 month later...