Harvard DrPH

dr_hopeful

100 views and no response. Is DrPh such an unpopular degree?

i know a lot of people who've applied to the harvard drph, however, it was very confusing to know what exactly they are looking for in applicants. Two , also had a hard time figuring out what courses were going to be taught.SO i decided to apply to the EPI SD instead.

Same here as well. I am confused on what type of individuals HSPH are seeking for the DrPh.

I have around 6 years work experience. I was torn between applying for a PhD vs DrPh. Time is in an important factor for me, I didn't want to spend 4-5 years on a degree. In the end I decided to apply to DrPh programs in the US and PhD programs in the UK (usually takes 3 years to finish a PhD in the UK). 

Same here as well. I am confused on what type of individuals HSPH are seeking for the DrPh.

I have around 6 years work experience. I was torn between applying for a PhD vs DrPh. Time is in an important factor for me, I didn't want to spend 4-5 years on a degree. In the end I decided to apply to DrPh programs in the US and PhD programs in the UK (usually takes 3 years to finish a PhD in the UK). 

which programs (schools) are you applying to in the uk? i was also considering applying to the UK schools  but many programs want you to write a research proposal first.. i simply do not have the time right now . Columbia, hopkins, berkeley etc offer  good drph programs . i just felt like a lot of people applying to the new harvard Drph are just going after the brand. I do not see how different it is. Two they are still busy remodelling the curriculum . i am sure your work experience makes you a competitve applicant.

For UK, prior to admission it is essential to have a supervisor agreeing/interested in working with you. You then work with your potential supervisor to write a research proposal.

I'm applying to Oxford, Cambridge and LSHTM and Imperial. It's easier for me to get funding in the UK as I am a home student.