General reservations about grad school

mushaboom

I'm currently a sophomore at UT Austin, a pretty great research university. For years I was sure I wanted to be a physician assistant. However, this past semester I finally realized and accepted that biology/health just really don't interest me that much. What I instead developed a love for is organic chemistry. I enjoyed the class immensely and talked to my professor during office hours about his research. Unfortunately by the time I got around to asking him for a research assistant position, he was unable to find a spot for me in his lab.

I'm just a bit stressed and frustrated because I feel like I'm behind everyone else here. UT offers a lot of great research initiatives for freshmen and I passed them up because I was so focused on becoming a PA. I have perfect grades (for the time being), but absolutely no research experience. I plan on contacting other professors after break, but it seems kind of bleak with all of these other experienced undergrads around. I was really hoping to get started on research right away so I could a) figure out if I'm willing to commit the rest of my life to chemistry and B) get into a good grad school if a) is a 'yes.'

Those are my concerns as of now... I'm sorry that I don't have any concrete questions; I just felt like I needed to get that out of my system. If anyone has any tips, insight, personal experiences, etc. that they'd be willing to share, I would greatly appreciate it!