Advice about Transferring

rockbender

Hey everybody,

I was just wondering if anyone had any advice about transferring? Many people have told me that it is ok/acceptable to transfer to a new program after finishing a masters, but I have doubts that it is really that easy. How do you go about the process? At what point do you discuss it with your current advisor? Are you expected to get a recommendation letter from your current advisor (that seems awkward)? 

I am a first year grad student (been at my university for 6 months, i.e. longer than the fall semester) and I just don't feel like it's working out. I'm not making any decision now, because I know it is still too early. But when the time comes, I would like to be able to make an informed decision. I haven't found that much information about the transfer process online, especially for the Earth Sciences. I feel like subspecialties are so small, that it would difficult to transfer without burning bridges. Would it be advisable to only transfer if switching to a new field (like ocean chemistry to atmospheric chemistry, or something like that)?

Thanks, and Happy New Year!

I can't speak to your field at all, so take this for what it's worth - but you might find this interesting. Duke university provides an SOP example from someone who is doing just this, transferring from one PhD program to another. It might provide some inspiration about how to frame the whole thing, and how doing so (at least in this case which is not in your field) for this student meant moving to a program that has a perfect fit with a very specific project. Have a look at the statement by Samuel Shearer:

http://culturalanthropology.duke.edu/uploads/assets/2011-2012GradStmts(1).doc

• 3 weeks later...