Advice for a sophomore French major with potential graduate plans?

klader

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this site, and I'd really appreciate some advice on how/if I should pursue graduate studies in French. I'm also majoring in Writing and Rhetoric and may wish to do graduate study in that field, so I'd like to know all of my options.

As my title indicates, I'm a current college sophomore, and I've yet to take any upper-level French classes. I'm currently finishing up FREN 202 with plans to study abroad in Montreal this summer and potentially France a year or two down the line. I've received very high grades in my courses and have been told by my professors that I've got a great aptitude for French, but I don't go to a top school, so a part of me is skeptical of these feats. I had a few years of French in high school but didn't learn too much from them, so I completely started from scratch my freshman year.

Basically, what should one do if they wish to study French in graduate school? What kinds of courses should I be taking, and is studying abroad in France an absolute must? I'll admit that finances are a bit tight for me, but I can always look into making it work, though I worry about my ability to handle studying so far away from home and my family.

I'm sorry if this is ill-posed or too immature for discussion, but I'd just really like to keep my options open.

Thank you so much!

Well, I am glad you are exploring this early on! First you must decide if you want to pursue grad study in French or Rhetoric/Eng. writing.

If you go with French, you need to be very fluent in it, and unless you are half french or have a lot of exposure to the language you can only get fluent by majoring in it and studying abroad. This may sound a bit harsh but I have been there and believe me grad school will expect alot out of you. Studying abroad isessential, if possible for a year which will increase your fluency drastically.