Do I have to use my grad advisor as a reference?

Lizzbee

I got my Master's this past May. I have a job interview coming up soon, to work in a lab. I really want this job and having been trying for a while to get an interview for something in my field.

However, I did not have a good relationship with my faculty advisor. I asked her in the past if she would mind being a reference, and she said that while she would give me a reference, it would not be a great one. I'm stuck as far as what to do because I feel that it would be a red flag to my interviewer if I do not include my advisor. 

Any advice anyone?

I'm also interested in this. My relationship with my advisor isn't bad, but there are professors and professionals in my field that I have spent more time with and who are more enthusiastically supportive than my advisor. But I also see how someone might find it strange if my advisor is not listed as a reference.

If your advisor clearly told you that she can't give you a good reference then why would you want to use her?  If you have other professors that could give you a good reference then it would make more sense to use them.  Now if a potential employer insists on speaking with your advisor you'll have to decide how you want to proceed.  If you're aware of her issues with you then perhaps you could find a way to address those points elsewhere in the interview to indicate that you have or are trying to improve.

In the sciences, it is generally seen as a red flag if your most recent advisor isn't one of your references. So a good-but-not-great reference might be better than no reference at all (which might be interpreted by new employers as "this person's grad advisor would have given a bad reference").

If you decide not to ask your advisor to be a reference, be prepared to explain why in job interviews (in a way that both doesn't make you look bad but also doesn't look like you're trashing your advisor).