Gap Year After MA Before PhD

mossyrocks

I'm in my last semester of my MA program in religion.

To be honest I've had a really difficult time adjusting and doing as well as I had hoped. My grades are definitely not as good as they should be to get into a PhD program, and in consequence I've lost a bit of confidence and drive to keep going.

So I decided to take a gap year because I didn't feel like my application was strong enough or that I would get good enough recommendations. I was told by many people that taking a year off would look like a lapse from academia and that it would look bad on my application. It would look like I was lazy and tired of the academic life, but I do want to get away from it for a bit in order to get some perspective on things. I haven't given up on pursuing my PhD but I do feel like I need to do something different for a while. 

Have I shot myself in the foot and screwed up my chances of getting into a PhD program in the future? Does anyone have any personal experiences or advice they could give me?

You have neither shot yourself in the foot nor screwed up your chances. My read is that advanced studies are an exercise in maturity and fortitude as much as in any learned competencies. In fact, a year off enabled me at one point to develop language skills, etc... at a slower pace and thus preparing for further study while in many ways resting and refreshing. I think this is also a great period within which one may examine and bounce off of other people whether the ardor and sacrifice required for a terminal degree is something that he or she wants and will be the best fit for that person's life situation.

As per the application, some schools will ask for an explanation of a gap year, and this provides an additional opportunity to distinguish yourselves from your beloved fellow students (read "competitors"). It can be made an advantage.

Edited by MBIGrad