Fall 2014 PhD Programs

Hello Everyone,

I have been a frequent visitor to this site to gain as much insight as possible into the application process for my programs and I thought I would share some of that experience for others to learn from.

I graduate this spring with my Master's degree in criminal justice from an online program run by a fantastic brick and mortar school. I majored in criminal justice for my Bachelor's degree as well and since my Bachelor's degree I have been working for three years in the criminal justice system.

I had a 3.6 gpa in undergrad and another 3.6 gpa for my master's program. My gre scores were 156 verbal, 157 quantitative and 4.0 for writing. I do not have significant research or publication experience. My Master's program was a terminal program that I took part time for two years while working full time. My undergraduate school is nothing special and my Master's program comes from a fantastic school but I am not sure if PhD programs dislike the fact that it is 100% web based.

I have applied to 10 schools which cost about $1,000. The schools are the following in no particular order.

1. University of Cincinnati

2. John Jay College

3. Northeastern

4. UC Irvine

5. UT Dallas

6. University of South Florida

7. Florida International

8. Old Dominion University

9. University of South Carolina

10. University of Pennsylvania

I'm not sure what to expect with regard to getting accepted/denied and funding/no funding. One resource I have found helpful along the way is the following website: www.adpccj.com/