BA in psych, wanting to do SLP. Advice/guidance needed...

Hi everyone,

First - this forum has been a great resource! Thank you all for the informative threads.

I have my Bachelor's in psychology and I am interested in doing a Master's program for SLP.

Here are my stats:

GPA: 3.7

GRE: Verbal: 161, Quant: 156, AW: 5.0

I have 3+ years of research experience in psychology, with many (~20) poster presentations (regionally/nationally). Possibly 1-2 pubs in progress that may be in press by the time I apply. Again, this is all irrelevant to SLP though it is with pediatrics.

I don't have any of my pre-reqs for SLP. I have my math, physical science, stats, and AP credit for my bio science that my undergrad university gave me credit for (zoology). Does anyone know if that is okay?

My next plan is to start observing SLPs. How many hours should I aim for? Also, do I build enough rapport/professional relationships to get a LOR? I plan on getting 2 LORs from my psych mentors, I imagine they would be fairy strong. I work full-time, so it will be tricky. I will also have to quit most of my psych research (while still hoping they can write my LORs in the fall).

Are there any schools that are more friendly to out-of-field applications? I'm still researching schools, but please let me know if any sound like they may be a good fit for me.

Any thoughts? Anything I'm overlooking?

Thanks in advance!

I'm a psych major!

I think it'll only help you because the fields are related. Research experience will help and ur GPA is really good. Some schools do have out of field but it'll take u n extra year or so, might as well get the double degree, no? You will be doing observation as part of ur Slp coursework but aim for at least 25. And yes! The more professional relationships you can build the better for letters of rec!

If u have any questions feel free to ask!

I'm a career changer too.  I would suggest trying to complete your pre-reqs before grad school for a few reasons: