2014-2015 Fulbright-National Geographic Digital Storytelling Fellowship

wildchartermage

Hi everybody!

I had just applied to the newly established Fulbright-National Geographic Digital Storytelling Fellowship! I was wondering if there is anyone else who had applied as well? If so, how was the process for you guys?

I had managed to pull everything together in two weeks...so tiring and time consuming! I had proposed to tell stories in United Kingdom and Japan. 

Fulbright had said there were 864 applicants for 5 spots....oh damn....definitely a long shot! 

Best of luck! 

I applied as well. It was a grueling process. Agreed. I applied in the Climate Change category in three counties, three different continents. And I'm really curious to hear about the diversity of applicants.

This is a great fellowship and I see it's attracted a large following. I suspect that people from all walks of life applied. For example, I'm a PhD student. What about you WildCharterMage?

Good luck everyone. Although it's tough to be hopeful with those stats: 5 out of 864!

Even though I'm a humanities and an Earth science major, my proposal has nothing to do with climate change, food, biodiversity, or any of other themes except for...Cultures and Cities. My interests lean toward anthropology and sociology rather than Earth science, even though I'm majoring in both. 

I had proposed to tell stories of the daily lives of people part of the British and Japanese Deaf cultures in major cities, showcase the beauty of both British and Japanese sign languages, and how those Deaf people struggle and triumph in their everyday lives since there is very little awareness in international mainstream media outlets on non-American Deaf communities, especially many people around the world don't understand or often stigmatize people with disabilities, so this is where I want to fill in the gap. :)