How demanding and difficult is slp grad school?

I have heard, repeatedly, that undergraduate slp classes are "kindergarten easy" compared to the demands of slp graduate school......and I am wondering how much truth there is to this. (I found my undergrad slp classes to be pretty challenging)

Are all the programs pretty much the same regarding difficulty and demands, or are some "easier" to manage? 

Do some programs require students to "critically read" and analyze, while others are more straightforward?

I am looking specifically at Boston MGH, Mercy College, Brooklyn College, and Adelphi Garden City.

Any and all feedback is greatly appreciated!

Hi speechstudent,

I am currently in my second semester of my master's. I can't speak to other programs necessarily, but I would say that most programs (or at least those programs worth their salt) will require you to "critically read and analyze" since this is a huge part of being a speech-language pathologist. You will not stop learning when you graduate and you will have to continue to critically read and analyze research articles in order to stay up to date and provide sound, evidence-based practice.

As far as difficulty in comparison to undergrad....Graduate programs in SLP are demanding - there is no denying it. In my opinion, the most difficult thing is time management. Coursework is certainly more demanding and this is compounded by the fact that you will also probably be managing your clinical work on top of a full course load. This may vary by program since some programs don't start clinical until after you are done with the majority of your academics, but I think many programs are designed like mine where you start clinical right off the bat.