Pooches and PhDs

iPsych

Hi everyone! I know the topic of pets is kind of interspersed around other topics but I thought I'd start a board specifically for having pets in grad school.

Right now, I'm not sure where I'll be attending in the fall but ideally, I'm hoping to find a pet friendly apartment and get a small dog.  My family had a dog for 13 years until he passed away this summer and I really miss having something furry and happy to care for and come home to.  I'm thinking that if I spend the summer housebreaking, crate training and creating a feeding/walking routine that can be followed while I'm in school that when I start school in the fall, the dog will be used to spending time home alone (and behaving while doing so).

Has anyone else been thinking about doing/done something similar?  How many of you started grad school already having a pet that you brought with you?  What are your thoughts on pets (of any kind!) and grad school?

We got a ~10 mo sheltie when I graduated undergrad, despite being a street rescue she was already potty trained by the time we got her from the fosters' and is too smart for her own good so things like crate training and basic leash manners were settled before the move. I'm not convinced the only reason it really works for us right now isn't that DH works from home and can give her the attention she needs. On weeks he's out of town I need a dog walker 1-2 times a day since I can be gone for a work day plus and evening class.
HOWEVER,

A friend got a 8 wo corgi right before she moved and it's been a nightmare for her. She didn't have support in potty training and without the proper timing (remember they can only hold their bladder for as months as they are old- so a 2 month old can hold it two hours) the dog is more or less trained two years later.