Freaking out about assistantship...

zirtico

I got admitted to Oregon State U. on Feb. 20th and was issued a formal acceptance last week subject to my Certificate of Finances.  I need a GTA/GRA to actually attend grad school so it is utterly crucial that I get this.  I called to find out when they would be given out but have been unsuccessful in reaching the department after several attempts.  I chose Oregon State mainly as my safety school (WashU was my "reach").  

If it has any relevance, I applied for an MS in chemical engineering and I hold a BEng from a worldwide top 20 school.  I scored 161V, 163Q and 4.0 AW on my GRE.  One of my LORs definitely attested to my ability to teach, as I have several years of tutoring experience.  Would you say I stand a chance to get one of the assistantships? Does anyone know when Oregon State actually issues GTAs and GRAs? Thanks!

Were you admitted or accepted? When they sent you an acceptance letter, it should have mentioned funding in some fashion, such as whether or not you were offered an assistanceship or how to contact their financial aid office. You should contact the financial aid office ASAP. They have things like fellowships and scholarships you can apply for, and the sooner you know of these, the sooner can avoid passing deadlines.

Call the department secretary and find out the name of the person in charge of assistanceships, it should be the DGS. If nothing else, contact the DGS/person who signed your acceptance letter, and directly ask about what funding package, if any, you are being offered.