Introducing an excerpt from longer work for writing sample?

Beckert

One of my applications has a 1,000 word limit on the writing sample.  I've decided to use an excerpt from my undergraduate seminar paper because its my best and most releavant work.  Any advice on introducing the expert to put it in context? Should I admend my introduction or write an abscrat for it? This is my first year applying (MA programas) and first time doing this so any advice is apperciated.

Without having a single clue about your paper or what part of the paper's structure you're running with, I can't give you specific advice. I can't give specific advice about the history field.