1st Authorship as an MSc. (Candidate)

Hey everyone,

I've spent the last semester doing a secondary analysis on a data set from a study I helped conduct last year, this is not my thesis, I'm just in my first year of my Master's. I've found significant results and am in the process of writing up a manuscript, but my supervisor is saying it's best if it's he that gets first authorship rather than I. The rationale is that reviewers are more likely to take it seriously if it's a PhD in front of the author list, than a BSc. 

I'm just wondering, from everybody's experience, whether this is the case. We're submitting to a 2.0+ impact journal, and we've recently been rejected by another journal for a paper that had another Master's student as senior author, so there's precedence. I just don't want to be passing up on a great opportunity to get a senior authored publication in my first year if it has as good a chance as any at getting accepted. 

So option A) I push ahead with publishing as first author and possibly risk getting rejected, and perhaps damaging my relationship with my supervisor option B) playing it safe and letting my supervisor take senior authorship, I get 2nd authorship, and probably earn some moral credit from my supervisor.

Thoughts?

In my field authorship is determined by the authors' contributions, and according to the conventions there the one who contributed the most is first, and the PI is usually last. Another convention in a different corner of my field is to list everybody alphabetically, especially if everyone contributed equally. Whether or not the submission "will be taken seriously" because of who's first is never a consideration and anyway since review is blind I don't think it should matter. Not that it's hard to know who you are reviewing (it's a small field, I normally have a good idea of whose papers I'm reviewing and also of who reviewed mine) but that doesn't affect authorship decisions.