Michigan or Northwestern?

moda

Okay, so I'm feeling really naive about making a decision. I'm currently living overseas and could not attend any visit days. I am very fortunate to have these offers, but have no idea which school I should pick.

I have been researching in China on a Fulbright fellowship for the past 8 months doing qualitative research. However, I am not interested in continuing qualitative, international research. I am hoping for a program that will train me in quantitative methods and also be supportive of my interest in continuing to focus on China.

Both schools are fantastic. I do not really understand all of the job placement data. Is there a huge difference between a T-5 school and a T-10?

I was also accepted to Indiana University, but I'm not sure if I should consider it at this point. I've heard such positive things about the program, but I'm not sure if it would be wise to turn down a T-10 school for Indiana.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Yu Xie is a superstar among superstars in quantitative sociology, particularly those working on China.  Don't know what your options are at Northwestern, but hard to imagine that he would not boost your training and profile.

You should get in touch with the possible advisors (professors who train quantitative methods or better, who study China) in both universities. I am sure you'll make the most informed decision after asking your questions and getting to know the possible advisors more personally. I believe it is super important that you can get along with your advisor, he/she is a nice, supportive person who takes interest in your research, and perhaps more importantly, wants to learn from you.