Getting a Master's degree in a language if you didn't major/minor in it?

stephenk23

My degree is in English. I'd like to get an MA and eventual PhD in French. I did not major or minor in French in university and the only French class I took in university was Intermediate French II, which I placed into after spending a summer abroad in Quebec and studying at a language center.. However, after graduation, I lived and worked in France for 8 months as an English assistant and I studied French intensively while there, during my immense amount of time off. In France, I took and passed the Diplôme Approfondi de la Langue Française at C1 (full professional proficiency) level on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages scale. I have a certificate proving this issued by the the Ministère de l'Éducation nationale, de l'enseignement supérieur et de la recherche. Given that the only bracket higher than that is C2 (Complete mastery akin to native-level French), would I still be considered at any program even though the only French class reflected on my transcripts is one intermediate level class in which I made an A?

Edited by stephenk23

Hello,

Yes you can definitely make a case for it in your application. Most students (american) are probably at that level or B2 when they enter MA in French. It might be a bit harder to get into PhD. But you will need to have a french writing sample- about 10 pages on a literature topic.

I don't know if you might have an opportunity to go back to France, but a Master's in French in France would definitely be good as well. And much cheaper!

If you cannot, apply to MA here and research programs because there are many that will give you financial support and maybe even give you a TA job.

I am in such a program now. If you have any questions you can PM me as well.

• 2 months later...