Chances of MPP/MPA with NO public work experience

Hi! I am an international prospective student, I would like to apply to an MPP/MPA but I feel that if you don't have a public service background it is virtually impossible to get into a good college. I have a good enough GRE (Q 165, V 158) but my work experience is 1 year full time in a private sector company and 1 year part-time internship in another private sector company. I have volunteered for years in a non-profit organization, but I don't know if my work experience is good enough. 

I majored in engineering and in the future would like to work in an NGO, but when I got out of college I felt that if I started to work with non-profit right away my career would be diminished, that's why I preferred to work in for-profit first. Sory for my english.

Please help! Thanks!

Hi! I'm an international student too, and I'm about to start my graduate study this fall. Here's a little something about myself. I hope it can help you gain some confidence when you apply. I'm straight out of undergrad and my only work experience was a one month full-time internship in a local government's foreign affairs office. I had some international volunteer experience, but none of them was longer than a month. (VISA restriction sucks) Well as you can see, you definitely have a stronger background in working than I do. Since I managed to get in some schools that I really like, I believe you will too in the near future. 

I think when applying, the most important thing is to show the ad comm how you fit their program. Sure work experience in related field is of great significance, but you can still show that you're a good fit by emphasizing your other strengths, your unique experience and your motivation in your personal statement.

I hope this will help.

If you have a compelling story and good rationale behind applying (i.e. you know what your passion is and why do you need MPP degree right now) then you will be accepted to good schools ;)