HESA Applicants Fall 2015

JBums1028

It might be a little early to start this... since I've officially deferred I kind of want to see who else on here will be applying to start in Fall 2015. Figured I'd start a thread where we can discuss what which programs we're interested in, give program search advice, etc.

I don't think its too early. I've been putting my list together now to get things ready to apply late summer early fall. I have no desire to start applications in the fall semester. I'm currently a junior with around a 3.65 gpa for when I will graduate next year. Double major in Speech Communication/History. I have lots of student affairs experience with internships with the Counseling Center, First Year Experience, Student Conduct in the Fall and have worked in Admissions and Residence Life. Currently here are the programs I'm looking at for HESA

University of Vermont

University of Connecticut

Colorado State University

Bowling Green

Ball State University

Rochester University

Indiana State University 

Vanderbilt 

University at Buffalo 

Michigan State University 

What ideas/thoughts do you have about any of these programs and what ones are you interested in?

I've heard many good things about all of those programs!

The only two I know of for sure at this point are MSU and GVSU since I'm deferred at both of those. I might reapply to UConn this year and I'm looking pretty seriously at South Carolina and Miami-OH per recommendation of an adviser. I've also looked into Utah, University of Rochester, Michigan, and Western Michigan. But I definitely don't have a final list yet.

I'm open to suggestions! My preferences are cohort model programs that offer assistantships in academic advising, service learning, admissions, or career services.