No academic LOR?

I'm applying to a masters program that is geared specifically towards working professionals, but the application did request at least one of the 3 LOR required be on the academic side. 

However, my BS was in a completely different field (business) and I graduated over 3+ years ago. While I have an impressive academic record from that time, I feel like any professors I contact would only really be able to give me a lukewarm "she was a good student" recommendation at best, whereas all of my industry/professional recommenders will be able to give me a much more personal LOR, and because my field is corporate training/education, they could still speak to my ability to learn/engage in a classroom setting (still not the same as an academic rec though, I know).

I'm guessing it's probably never a great idea to go against the program's recommendations, but I feel like better 3 great LOR that don't 100% fit the bill than 1 so so LOR that does? Or am I way off base?

You should contact the school directly and ask them about your specific situation. If the program is geared towards professionals, they probably have had other people with very similar backgrounds and can tell you what would reflect well on you.

I did this, ended up going with all professional references, and got in at 3/4 places I applied. But, my job experience is closely related to my degree [ed. to add: the degree I was applying to] and my application basically rested on it (my [undergrad] degree was also 4+ years ago and not relevant). And I spoke to people at those schools first. The answer will probably be field dependent, and maybe program dependent as well.