1 Failing grade in Grad School = no chance?

Hello, 

I am seeking some advice. I have a undergraduate degree in Biochemistry, graduated with a 3.1. I have worked in industry fro 3 years and this year decided to go and get a M.S. degree in Chemical Engineering. My first semester i did well with A- B+ and B. I took Transport I Thermodynamics and a Membrane study course. This is my 2nd semester and I will probably get a B in transport II and my applied separations course but my reaction engineering course I might get an F... If i retake this course next spring and get an A does this look bad? If i wanted to go onto medical school would they reject me because of an F in a semester course? I am really worried about how this will affect my future, jobs, further schooling etc...

I do appreciate your time to respond.

Best, 

Matt 

Failing grades do not look good at all. Do you know of any med schools that only look at your courses from the last 2 years? Medicine is not my domain, but my hunch is that this would be your best be of getting in somewheret. A failing course is likely to impact the tier/ranking of the schools that you would have a chance of getting into.

If you want to attend med school, a student I know who was applying to med schools in Canada told me that McGill and U of Western Ontario are the only 2 med schools in Canada that only look at your last 2 years of study. You may want to investigate these options and look for other US schools that have a similar selection process. Good luck!

On second thought, I looked back and saw your uGPA was a 3.1 and in the master's program you have some Bs. I don't think it is competitive enough to apply to med school at those two schools in Canada. If you do two more years of schooling and get straight As or very close to that during the entire two years then you will have a chance of being accepted. Good luck!

Edited by jenste