Help with lower ranked programs (Biostats)

Greetings all, 

I'm a rising undergraduate senior. I'm a biology major that has taken an interest in statistics and want to apply to grad schools in the Fall. However, I've read you need a really strong math background for the best programs, which I don't have. I'm working my way through my calc sequence, and I'm taking Linear Algebra over the summer and Calc 3 in the Fall (as I apply). My GPA is right around 3.5, with a B in Calc I, although I should have an A in Calc II, which I'm finishing this semester. 

Basically, I'm not shooting for the stars here. I know I'm not Harvard material, but I'm hoping I have reasonable shot at the lower ranked programs. I know how good Harvard, Hopkins, UW, Michigan, UNC, and the rest of the big names are, but I'm wondering about some lesser ranked programs. I've done some digging and the names I see coming up not in the top 10, but seem to have been around a while are:

- Pittsburgh

- Boston

- UC-Denver

- Iowa

- Medical University of South Carolina

- U of Buffalo

Basically, I'm wondering if anyone has insight into those lesser ranked schools that I'm interested in, and how they compare/rank with each other?

Thanks!

I don't know anything about the programs at these schools, but here are a couple of other places that I believe have biostats PhD programs:

- Vanderbilt

- Virginia Commonwealth University

-  Rutgers

- Rochester

- Duke (brand new program, hence unranked)

- University of Texas Health Science Center (Houston- I think this is affiliated with MD Anderson Cancer Center, a strong place for Bayesian stats)

Another possibility to expore- some higher ranked biostats departments have a separate, less mathematically rigorous track to a "Doctor of Public Health" instead of PhD. I think UNC and Emory might be in this category.