how to ask again for LOR after 3 years, a bit uncomfortable

ghoory

I had a question regarding how to ask for LOR of recommendation from professors I have already asked before.

I applied for phD programs  in 2011. I did not get into  any of the schools I applied. I was very upset at the time and didn't let my recommenders know about the outcome and have not been in touch with them. Since then, I moved to Europe and started doing research in a bit of different field. Now my supervisor is retiring and he suggested me to apply for a few programs in Europe and US. So I have one reference from him, but I will need more. I have no choice but to ask the same professors again. I don't know how to ask them again and I find the situation awkward because I have to contact them again after 3 years and it has been since 2009 since I got my Masters. Can anyone suggest how should I email them asking them again for new LOR after such long time. I feel very embarrassed and awkward asking for LORs, and especially in a situation that I didn't have proper contact with the professors, so any advise is appreciated.

Thanks

Sharon

• 4 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

Ask them; you have absolutely nothing to lose. It's natural to fear rejection, but courage is acting in spite of that fear.

I'm actually in a (somewhat) similar situation in that I haven't had any contact with my undergrad professors in 4+ years, so I can in part empathize with you. I painstakingly typed and edited (and then re-edited) my email but couldn't bring myself to hit send. It was my girlfriend that gave me the advice that I'll pass on to you: Suck it up and just do it. Being told no will be infinitely better than regretting not asking for the rest of your life.

• 2 weeks later...

You have nothing to lose, there's no embarrassment if they don't reply - it's not like the whole world is going to see. I would recommend giving them a short reminder on who you are what when you worked with them.