American PhD in the Netherlands

shortstack51

So this is a bit premature, as I'm just about to start my PhD, but it's something my fiancee and I have been talking about and I'd just like some feedback as we ruminate on it because it might change how I approach the job market. (I thought about putting this in City Guide but I settled on this forum because my questions mostly concern working)

Once I have my PhD in 5 years, I'm considering moving to the Netherlands. My fiancee has family there and we've always found the idea appealing.

I've done some minor research into how people with PhDs in the Humanities from American universities fare in the Netherlands, and they seem to do fairly well. My biggest concern is being able to make my huge student loan payments once I start working.

I'll have a PhD in English from UCONN, which isn't a top-ranked school by USNR but is by NRC standards (via The Chronicle), so I'm not sure if that would hurt my chances (will they have only heard of places like Harvard or Princeton? will it matter if they aren't extremely familiar with the university?). I also don't know what the overall job market is like. How is it compared to the states for those holding a PhD in a field in the humanities? I've read about new liberal arts programs that are apparently weeding out some of the problematic issues that traditional institutions have.

I know that the promotion system works somewhat differently, though I've read that they are beginning to move to a tenure track system. Is it true that they tend to run most programs in English (I wouldn't be opposed to learning Dutch--I took German for 8 years and I can mostly understand Dutch as a result, but I would prefer to teach in English since I won't be fluent in Dutch)?