Business cards for grad students...I'm out of the loop on this?

harrisonfjord

I am currently enrolled in a master's program, but I was just wondering what the thoughts are on getting some business cards made up? I have been going to more conferences lately and I noticed that a lot of students have cards with them for networking purposes. 

I am a teaching assistant this semester and I also work in a lab, but only my teaching position is funded. I feel weird just writing teaching assistant on the card. Is there a specific terminology I should use? Should I just make my title "graduate student at so and so university?" Any suggestions? I feel ignorant because I don't know if this is common practice or not?

Edited by harrisonfjord

If you are a teaching assistant or lab assistant, then I would mention it - having a specific job title is always better than just saying "student." I don't' think that it's necessary to have a business card as an M.A. student, but I don't think that having one could hurt. 

So I tend to prefer asking others for their business card. The way I see it, most established professionals probably aren't going to take the time to do follow up contact with anyone they get a business card from. But if you take in their contact info, then you can be in control of follow up contact. Like Maelia8 said, I don't think it's necessary either. But if you really want them, then I'd list teaching or lab assistant.

If you are going to conferences a lot, it is not a bad idea. You should use the title that fits the context. You aren't at the conference because you are a TA. Just because you aren't being paid doesn't mean that you aren't filling a role. Maybe something like "graduate researcher" or "graduate student research assistant"

Edited by raneck

I assume you don't want to frame yourself as a teaching assistant but rather as a student-researcher in your field.  So I'd leave off the TA job title and make up a card that looks something like this: