Different major in grad school from undergrad?

Flux2

Is it a disadvantage to pursue in a different major in grad school?

I've noticed that there are some researches where all different disciplines come together, and I was wondering if this is the case will it be just better to pursue the same major done in undergrad to become more professional with it.

I'm interested in developing biomedical sensors and I'm currently pursuing in physics/biology as an undergrad degree but I've noticed that most of the relevant labs are associated with mechanical engineering and biomedical engineering. And I really wish that I could make the most out of my undergrad degree during grad school..

So does the major you pursue in grad school matter a lot?

It matters, but it's less of a disadvantage than I originally thought. I majored in Environmental Chemistry and was accepted to multiple Materials Science graduate programs. I've spoken with a professor who says that many MatSci students have chemistry backgrounds, and therefore it is not a major disadvantage since there is a natural connection between chemistry and materials science. I see a natural connection between biology/physics to biomedical engineering (but that's just my opinion). Graduate programs might require for you to take pre-requisite courses to make up for any gaps in your undergraduate education, but this is not uncommon.

One caveat: I only applied to MS programs, no PhD programs. I'm not interested in obtaining a PhD, but I also do not believe I would have been accepted to any PhD programs (at least not at any top 30 schools).