Advice for an aspiring French PhD student

analysedudiscours

Hello all! 

Congratulations to those of you accepted to PhD programs for the Fall. I am a recent graduate of a top 30 liberal arts university with a double major in French and Psychology with a minor in Linguistics. I have been very active in my university's French department. I wrote an honors thesis centered on a discourse analysis of the past ten years of French foreign policy, I've worked as a TA for Intensive Intermediate French, and I have worked as a French tutor. Next year I will be a part of the TAPIF program in France in the Académie de Strasbourg. 

My question for you all is, what were your undergraduate careers like? How many of you are going into PhD programs straight out of undergrad? My undergraduate professor who is sort of mentoring me through this process is suggesting that I pursue my M.A (at a university like Miami of Ohio or UMass Amherst) before applying to one of the top ten PhD programs. (My favorites at the moment are  NYU, UPenn, Berkley, and Brown.) While I am more than willing to put the work into my M.A in order to become a more competitive candidate for these programs and further my knowledge in the field, I would also ideally rather go right into a PhD program that I love. 

I've been researching my options quite extensively and I suppose I'm still a little in the dark about the expectations for these PhD programs. I'm also unsure of my own status in terms of what constitutes a competitive candidate. 

I'd be very appreciative of any advice, guidance, etc. from those of you who have gone through this application process! 

All the best, 
"In need of a reality check"

What field would you like to specialize on in your PhD?  From your post, it sounds like either linguistics or culture.  You'd want to look at different programs depending on that.