Need help to prepare and apply for Grad school

norkick13

Hello

First of all thanks for taking time to read my post...

I am an international student going to StonyBrook for Neuroscience bachelors. I was recently diagnosed with Chronic depression, ADHD and partial aphasia. As of now my GPA is 2.0 but I am expecting it to get better. I am taking all summer off just giving myself some time to de-stress and flush my mental mind with more positive and strategic approach. I need someone to brief the process for applying to grad school in neuroscience. I am very passionate about studying neuroscience and DONT WANT TO GIVE UP!

Thanks

I feel that with that kind of GPA, you need to separate yourself as much as possible away from it. I would recommend:

Improving the GPA as much as possible.

Do you have any research experience? If not, find a way to get some.

Work as a research assistant after you graduate for a few years. The adcom doesn't take GPA into account as much after you start working in the real world for years.

Do well on the GRE, when you do take it.

Anyone else have any other suggestions?

I had severe depression in high school and my first year of undergrad (currently in remission). I know how frustrating it can be.

Good luck on your applications, though!

Why do you think you will be a good candidate for grad school, beyond people with higher GPAs? Find and answer and use it in your statement of purpose. Just because you have a reason for your low GPA doesn't mean you have a reason that you will be a good graduate student. 

First, shoot for thesis based masters programs. You will not get into a PhD program unless you have very good connections, publications, or just plain lucky. 

Look for places that do not have a minium GPA for grad students. Below a 3.0 in grad school is failing, you are severely under that in perhaps less rigorous classes.