Good PhD programs for food studies, human-animal relations?

Ilikekitties

I'm currently a rising junior at a small Midwestern liberal arts college. I'm majoring in anthropology and Spanish and I'm trying to find programs for PhD's in anthropology that might match my interests. I'm currently working on a summer project that deals with political economy of food choice (Marx, Wilk,) but I'd also like to tie it into animal welfare/human-animal relationships either toward the end of this summer or next summer. I might also do a variation of this project in Costa Rica when I study abroad.

Can you think of any programs that might have professors who do this kind of work? My advisor thinks it's too early for me to find professors because I still have two years of undergrad left and I might (will) change my mind about interests, but I'm super curious if anyone comes to mind. 

And, I don't know if these topics are too narrow. I've heard that when you're going into grad school, you need to have broader interests.

Edited by CostaRita

• 4 months later...

I'm interested in livestock production and applying to U Chicago.  They have some cool looking Animal Studies workshops.  Here's a link: http://cas.uchicago.edu/workshops/animalstudies/ 

You might try departments that are interested in social movements if you have inclinations toward studying animal rights/lib politics.  This could mesh nicely with an interest in vegetarianism. 

I was going to suggest UChicago as well! Check out Kathleen Morrison's work (she has done some work on vegetarian diets in India).

If you want to look at it from a historical (or prehistorical) perspective, there are lots of zooarchaeologists studying human-animals relations in the past.

Look for people doing multi-species ethnograpy. That's the ticket.

Read this: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1548-1360.2010.01069.x/full