Removing achievements on resume

hustlebunny

Hi all,

Got advice from an expert to remove everything I achieved during my undergrad and grad year like fellowship,deans merit list, awards, community involvement, GPA (3.8) and just leave work related stuff and what I studied.

For those searching for jobs/ who have, is this advisable? competition is cut throat for jobs..and I always had the understanding that they look for candidates beyond academics...please chime in  :) 

I would agree with this advice. I am not sure what kind of jobs you mean (academic or not etc.) but I think in both cases, once you are finished with your undergraduate degree, there really is no point in listing things like "Dean's Honour List" or equivalent. I would keep the focus of the resume/CV strictly to what employable skills and work experience you have to offer. 

The only time I would put these items on the CV is for graduate school applications, because grad schools are interested in your experience and accomplishments as a student as well as a worker in your field. 

From my experience in industry less is more. HR doesn't want to go through a multi-page resume. Keep it short and to the point. It is a good idea to add in a few highlights from what you've done. If you want to go into any detail that's what a cover letter is for, but even still keep it focused on accomplishments and what it means to the company. They don't care if you won a fellowship, they care that you're able to take an idea, turn it into an actionable plan, and follow through to finish a project.

And yes, leave off your GPA. You're past undergrad so it doesn't matter and GPA from a graduate program means nothing.