Is it appropriate to ask a professor to write recommendations to ... schools?

TeaOverCoffee

I'm an undergraduate English major, and I'm applying to graduate school for Fall 2015. I intend to apply to 14 programs total (a mixture of MA and Ph.D. programs). Is it inappropriate to ask my professors to write 14 recommendations for me? I have three professors in mind who more than likely will accept to write recommendations for me, but I just don't know if it's asking too much.

I'd happily go to any of the schools I've chosen, so there aren't "fall-back" schools in my list. So personally, I don't think my list is too much, so I'm not interested in reducing my list. I can't fathom not receiving a single acceptance because I lazily didn't apply to every program that I considered. I'm simply wondering if I ask a professor to write 14 recommendations, will that be an overload for them? Should I instead get four or five professors to write recommendations, alternating professors occasionally?

Wait, I thought the standard was like 10 schools?

And don't grad schools require 3 recommendation letters each? You're looking at 42 letters there. I don't think it's that big of a deal to ask a professor to write letters of rec for 14 schools (unless that professor hates you or doesn't know you or something), since they'd likely recycle the same letter 14 times, just changing the names around. Filling out the letter submission form, though, I hear is a pain in the ass. I heard this from one of my rec writers. But it's not like you're asking them to write 14 uniquely tailored letters.

Just give your professors as much time as possible, and be aware of anything that would prevent you from getting that letter (e.g. they're flaky or really super busy all the time forever)