Switching Programs After Leaving Disastrous Department

Symb0lic0rd3r

Hi, I'm looking for advice for a tentative run for an MA/PhD in various literature departments. Could be in my foreign language specialty or comparative lit. I was a PhD student in literature at a very prestigious university (East Coast, Ivy League). I graduated with a MA, and lived abroad for about a year as an exchange student at a European university. While being a grad student, the department was in flux, a transitional period in which a couple of professors left the department permanently, leaving only a handful of professors available to teach a couple of graduate seminars each semester. My cohort agreed that we were not really learning anything, and so did other exchange students who came to teach foreign language courses. The professors were difficult to deal with, to say the least, and there was a lack of professional development within the department. I didn't pay much attention to all of this, and just went with the flow, mimicking one of my professors who basically didn't give a shit, a blasé attitude. As a result, I wasn't very much liked, even though I was active within my research, and went out to make friends from other departments. As a whole, in the hiring interview panels for new professors, our cohort agreed that the department as a whole was isolated. And we made that clear to the professors who were interviewing for a position in our department.