chances for micro/parasitology phd (or ms)?

Shamrock_Frog

Hello,

I graduated in 2010 with BA in biology (at that time the school only offered BA). I didn't know what I wanted to do at the time so I've been working since then. First at an emergency animal hospital (for about 5 years total, also worked there during undergrad) and then at one of the top medical schools in the country.

I am interested in programs for microbiology/parasitology but would also like the opportunity to do some bioinformatics/comp bio type work too.

Stats:
Small, liberal arts undergraduate institution (but has like 90-something % acceptance rate to medical school. I'm not pre-med and never was.)

GRE: Q-152 and V-158, AW-5.5. (I know this is low but it's the second time I've taken it).
uGPA: ~3.3. I took a few post-back classes (physics, technical writing) and programming classes. (GPA might actually be closer to 3.5, but not over). I did undergraduate research (no publications. not many actually publish as undergrad from my university). I also work in a pathology lab at a well known medical school, doing parasitology (and other things: serology/pcr/cbc/chem stuff. I was hired because I knew parasitology)
SUBJECT GRE: I plan on taking the bio one in October.
LORs will be good.

Schools I am looking at: University of Houston, Rice, UT-Austin. BCM. UTMB.  (I currently live in Texas).  U Penn (some the research there seems to be a really good match for my work experience/background). U of Iowa (maybe). U of Nebraska (maybe).

I was planning on applying to phD programs and then if I'm rejected applying to MS. My low GPA is mostly a result of working full time while taking 16-18 hours a semester and supporting a parent who was unable to work at the time. It was a lot to juggle at once, for sure.

Any tips or advice? Any universities you'd recommend or not?

Thanks.