Graduate Education at The University of Chicago - Just got an email from them

moccacad

Hey guys,

I'm an international student and I just received a general mail from gradadmissions@uchicago.edu encouraging me to apply to their graduate school. It was obviously sent to a wide range of students and it is not from the specific department I'm interested in,

But it got me thinking - how do they even know me?

I haven't sent them my GRE or TOEFL scores yet, and I'm an international student and they obviously don't approach every student in the world. So what does it mean? did any of you get the mail? does it mean that my score are high enough for them or should I just not take it seriously.

I copies the content of the mail for you:

Dear Iris,

Since 1892, scholars at the University of Chicago have been transforming society with a commitment to creative inquiry. More than 80 Nobel laureates — 16 percent of all recipients since the award was first given — have been associated with the University of Chicago, including 8 currently on the faculty. For 20 consecutive years, our graduate students have won more Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Fellowships than students at any other U.S. educational institution.

From world-renowned astronomers to Academy Award-winning directors, our graduate alumni exemplify a legacy of accomplishment across every Division and Professional School. They include major authors (Philip Roth, AM'55), leaders in international banking (World Bank chief economist Justin Yifu Lin, PhD'86), national broadcast journalists (PBS national correspondent Ray Suarez, AM'93), famous scientists (Edwin Hubble, PhD'17), and winners of MacArthur Fellowships, Guggenheims, and Fields Medals. More than 157,000 UChicago alumni form a network that touches more than 125 countries and exemplify a stellar legacy of accomplishment reflected in every University of Chicago degree.