New guy here would like some sage advice :)

SeekHeart

Hi I'm new around here and have been wondering what to do since I graduated last year.

Currently I am working at a research institute at Harvard Medical school and am planning on applying to grad school in the year 2016. I've recently taken the GREs and my scores are less than Ideal (156/151 M/V) and my undergrad gpa <3.0 so I'm a bit worried as to whether or not I can get in to grad school. Ultimately I'd like to do a phd but I am dubious as to whether or not I'll even have a shot. Any advice would be very helpful and thank you.

Forgot to mention I wanted to apply for a Molecular Biology or a Computer-Bio related field.

Edited by SeekHeart

With a sub 3.0 gpa you're going tho have to do something tho stand out and those gre scores aren't good enough, at least for a PhD. You may have to do a masters first and excel at it to have a chance at a PhD.

• 4 weeks later...

If you're working with HMS, look into using some of the educational reimbursements while you work there.  While your GPA is not optimal, taking either graduate level courses or any relevant courses will definitely help you improve your application.  I've heard others say on the forum that if their GPA was low, taking the subject test (and getting a high score) helped them overcome the low GPA.

If the job you're at is where you want to be (as in, it is relevant to your future research area), talk with your supervisor(s) and set some professional goals you want to accomplish by 2016.  You should be having a frank discussion of what your career goals are, and see how this job can help you get to the next step.  Something like leading a project or increasing your participation in said project, getting a publication or two by the end of it all, etc.

(This is assuming you have a good working relationship with your supervisor/PI)

Hi I'm new around here and have been wondering what to do since I graduated last year.