Advice for Out of Field applicant, no prereqs

Hi there,

I am in need of some advice for applying to SLP programs. I have a BA in Psychology and French with a 3.72 GPA from a nationally recognized university. I have been working in college student services since I graduated in a mentoring/counseling capacity. I have some experience working with kids in a pre-school and nannying, but no direct SLP experience. I am trilingual (unfortunately no Spanish...darn). I am REALLY hoping to apply this winter for Fall 15 entry so I can get started on this career path ASAP. But do I have a chance with no SLP experience and no prereqs? I plan to reach out to SLP's in my area to at least shadow in the next few months before applying.. and I have considered signing up for 1 or 2 online leveling courses for the fall. Would this help my chances? I have a FT job, so I need to decide what would be most advantageous of these options since I don't have much free time.

I have good GRE scores-- 168 V, 162 Q, 5.0 AW. I am hoping this will help, but not sure how heavily different parts of the app will be weighed.

Anyone know of schools that weigh GPA and GRE more heavily than experience? I may want to look towards those. Of course, I can only apply to schools which accept Out of Field applicants. So far have been looking at schools in Boston (Emerson, MGH, BU), Chicago (Northwestern, Rush, St Xavier), and others (U Maryland, UT Dallas, U Pittsburgh, Vanderbilt).. Thanks for the help!!

I was also out of field and decided to take pre-reqs before applying.  I'm so glad I did!  It opened up a lot of additional options in terms of schools and solidified my application.  I started taking pre-reqs in the fall of 2013, applied to grad school in the winter, and am starting grad school this fall.  So you can definitely start taking pre-reqs now and still be able to start grad school in fall 2015.  If you're concerned about working while taking pre-reqs, consider taking them online.