Dramatic Literature Dabblers

I'm researching programs for the Fall 2015 application cycle and was looking to connect with like-minded individuals for their opinions.

In a nutshell, my interest lies in the integration of drama into what we broadly call "literature". Often, the study of drama is sectioned off on its own or else strictly relegated to the field of theatre. Unless we're talking about Shakespeare, dramatic literature is left out of many English courses. In my experience, when a play is required reading, English students are hesitant to dive into interpretation. Yet the the very kind of interpretation that we do for our studies of "literature" is done in every theatrtical production of a play. I'm interested in studying why we are so hesitant to incorporate drama into our literary studies and researching a methodology for comparing "literature" and dramatic works side by side.

While I have an undergraduate degree in theatre, I attended a small school for my master's that didn't provide an opportunity to take many dramatic literature courses. As a result, my scholarly work appears to be stronger in nineteenth century literature. I don't see this as a setback, however, as my research lies in the intersection of regular "literature" and drama. In fact, I believe this has provided me with a strong background for what I'd like to do.

Does anyone have any suggestions for programs that would be a good fit for my work? Or any articles that may be helpful?