Should I, an EECS student who just scored V 157 & Q 170, retake GRE?

perfectionming

Title says it all.

I am an EECS student aiming to get into top PhD programs (Harvard, Stanford, etc.). This is my second time doing GRE. Should I take it a third time? Is this good enough for those top PhD programs?

(AW score is not out yet, but I feel it should be higher than 4.0, which was my AW score at my first attempt)

P.S.: I understand that they do not set hard "minimum score". I am hoping that someone could answer this question with empirical examples (either story of yourself or stories that you've heard of).

Thanks a lot!

Erik

Edited by perfectionming

Hello,

For schools like Stanford, your score is more than enough. Honestly, you should focus on your research statement. Getting in will involve demonstrating that you have strong research experiences (potentially publications). Your time is better spent focusing in either trying to get a paper published (if not journal, then a 1st author conference paper), and writing a polished SOP.

Once you have a 3.6+ GPA, and a GRE like yours, the research is what actually matters for PhD. Unlike MS, a PhD is a research degree, and therefore you need to show that you have very strong research skills.

Best wishes!

I agree that your scores are probably within the range they are looking for. If you think that you can drastically increase it (like at least 5 points on the verbal) and keep the same quant then it might be worth it retake. In my experience, it takes quite a bit of work for us math/science people to improve the verbal by that much though so I if you dont think you can easily improve the score then I agree that your time would be much better spent on your research or SOP.

Hi bsharpe269,