Finding a job after graduation

I start my program next month! I know I am getting super ahead of myself but I am worried about finding a job post graduation that I can get the supervision hours at. I have looked on indeed and read horror stories about people with MSWs who can't find jobs (mostly the ones I read focused in macro though). I have also looked at job listings for LSWs and most of them prefer LISWs or LCSWs. If you have your Masters already when did you start applying to postgraduate jobs? How soon before you were hired? Also how soon after graduation did you get your LSW? What did you do in the time between?

Edited by LittleDarlings

I am still a student yet wanted to respond. I would begin networking immediatley at your field placement (if you like it) and attend the career fairs/alumni networking events that your program offers. Plenty of folks in my program began receiving job offers in Feb/March/April and they graduated at the end of April. I would also plan to get your LSW as soon as you can. I hope to do the same as I get married a month after I graduate and I want to get it out of the way

Take things one day at a time. If you start freaking out about the job hunt now, surely you will make yourself crazy by the end of your program. As said above, network. Make yourself some business cards, give them to everyone you meet. Talk to everyone, and be polite as hell, even if it's someone you think has no connection to the field. You never know whos mother, brother, uncle, dog walker, etc, is in the field and can be your winning connection. You can volunteer, join a networking group, attend conferences. write a paper for publishing. The list goes on and on. Never miss an opportunity to market yourself. And make sure that when you're doing so, you're doing it positively.

First and foremost, relax.

I was a macro student. I did not have a macro focused internship entirely. I graduated in May 2014.