Regarding Publications and Research Interests

Shaiya

This is a somewhat long post but please bear with me. I need guidance.

I'm new here but I've spent the last two hours scouring this forum and now I feel a little stupid for not realizing how near impossible it is to get into grad school, especially PhD. A couple of people around me who have applied of PhDs have generally gotten into great programs and I guess that gave me a false sense of security. But that's all gone now and replaced with pessimism  :(

So basically, I'm applying for a PhD in social/cultural anthropology in the US. I graduated in May with a BSc in Sociology and Anthropology and recently finished a fruitful month long RAship with a tenured professor from SUNY, Buffalo. I've conducted a good amount of fieldwork and written several research papers for my courses (easily 6-8 research projects/papers, if not more). But I've never published or attended conferences or presented a paper anywhere. Getting ANY form of research experience is so hard in my country, because anthropology is still very new here and research isn't valued (it's all about going corporate). My CGPA is 3.43, major GPA 3.7. The fact that I have nothing published concerns me. I feel like I have more to prove as an international student.

Second. My research interests are diverse and I can't seem to pin down what I want to put down in my SOP. For sure, gender and sexuality is one and the interplay of religion and culture, but my undergraduate research has been quite diverse (globalization, fundamentalism, food). For this reason, I don't know how concrete I can make my SOP. I do definitely see myself pursuing gender and religion but because I've done a lot of different things, I think I lack the depth to tackle these topics in my SOP. I mean, people say they cite theories and authors and stuff when talking about future research. I don't know if it's that clear in my head  :unsure:

I suppose my questions are: