Political Science GRE Subject Test is NEEDED!

YoungR3b3l

Folks

I dont grasp why ETS is bothering us with this general test. Since GRE is a grad studies test, and grad studies are emphasized on a specific major, i think it is way better & practical to make a subject political science test. Why do we have to grasp reading comprehension essays on "Technology & evolution of car emissions impact on the environment" or "Types of extincting plants & what scientists are doing about it"

As a political science student I would truly prefer something used in my field. For instance, Analytical writing questions on analyzing a specific political regimes statistical data in their stability/instability with a time frame, or questions on how to create a coherent hypothesis on a specific topic on IR or comparative politics with giving examples.

With the previous samples, it would really indicate how ready & well prepared a political science prospective student is.

Also the verbal part uses mostly a wide range of terms used in the political science literature.

And the Quant. part gets rid of that sort of mathematical questions that even Kenneth Waltz ( political scientists: Neo-realism theory creator) would have never do and think about it. And just stick to the quant, methods which are used commonly in the political science field.

I wish that type of GRE ever existed, it'd be an accurate, or atleast a more accurate indicator of how truly an applicant is well prepared and ready for his 'specified' major that he wants to pursue his grad studies in!

Thoughts folks?

Edited by YoungR3b3l

There used to be a Pol Sci GRE subject test, but it was discontinued in 1998, I assume due to the lack of benefit relative to other measures (transcripts, letters, writing sample). 

There used to be a Pol Sci GRE subject test, but it was discontinued in 1998, I assume due to the lack of benefit relative to other measures (transcripts, letters, writing sample).