Personal statement question

Hi all! I'm an out of field (Spanish and Education) student applying for Fall 2015. As I'm preparing my personal statement, I have run in to a couple of problems. My ulitmate goal is to work as a(n?) SLP in a medical setting, dream job would be NICU, or as a bilingual SLP with Spansih-speaking clients. Is it wise for me to talk about my specific goals in my personal statement, or would that make me seem closed-minded?

I don't know much about your field, but I don't see why having goals makes you closed-minded. It isn't like you're bound in blood by those goals. People's interests and goals change over the course of grad school.

No one is going to be 100% open-minded, like no one is 100% impartial. I'd say go for it and add it. It might make you appear more ambitious and focused. Most schools want you to have a reason to attend grad school anyways.

Hope that helps!

I'm an SLP grad student and I fully agree with Dedi. Stating specific goals shows that you know enough about the field to know what specific opportunities there are in addition to showing that you are motivated and dedicated. The way I structured my personal statement was starting general (Why SLP?) then moving to more specific (why I was interested in AAC and speech sound disorders) and then to school-specific (why my interests and background are a good fit for that school).

I was at an info session for University of the Pacific. They do NOT like students who come in with a specific focus. The way they see it, undergrads have not taken the courses and externships to know what they want to do, especially for out of fielders like us.

I am finding the personal statement hard, since I have a specific focus in mind.

I was at an info session for University of the Pacific. They do NOT like students who come in with a specific focus. The way they see it, undergrads have not taken the courses and externships to know what they want to do, especially for out of fielders like us.