What do language graduate programs place emphasis on?

Alyciabaleesha

Hello everyone!

As the title alludes, I am seeking advice in applying to a master's program focusing on either bilingual education or Latin American literature and culture. I graduated in December 2013 with two bachelor's degrees, one in both English and Spanish. 

I am one of the "low overall GPA" students with a 2.99 cumulative. My program GPA for Spanish is a 3.7, and the GPA for my last 60 hours of credits taken is 3.5. There is a clear difference between my first few years of college versus my last, and I believe I have a good explanation for the bad decisions made during the first part of my undergrad career (I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder and attempting to find a correct dosage of medication while attempting to take classes). I have never received anything lower than a B+ in any of the classes of my last few years except for biology, and I've received solid A's in all of my upper-level Spanish classes. 

I have some really great recommendation letters lined up and the full support and advice of every single one of my Spanish professors. 

My question is this: what do graduate programs that center around a language place the most emphasis on? I know my cumulative is low and that I will need to absolutely slaughter the GRE, but I am also confident (based on every single other standardized test I've taken) that I can do so. I have some volunteering experience in teaching English as a secondary language to native Spanish speakers and studied in Mexico for two summers. Because I added Spanish so late in my undergrad experience (I was essentially finished with my English degree), I didn't have much time to work on things like fellowships or conferences - I completed everything for my Spanish degree in about 2 years.