Observation hours

Hey everyone! 

So I'm currently getting my second bachelor's online through Utah State; I have my first bachelor's in Human Development and Family Studies.  I have a decent amount of volunteer hours that are kind of all over the place, all related to children and none specific to speech.  I am thinking of shadowing a few SLP's in different settings (school, hospital, etc.)  Can anyone suggest how many hours of shadowing and volunteer I should complete (I know I will be completing 50 hours for a course but I'm just talking about icing on the cake!)?  Any suggestions would be great!

Thank you!

The more hours the better in my opinion for volunteering and observations. What I've heard looks really good on resumes (again, just my opinion) is to find one specific site or population of clients and observe as much as you can in that 1 setting. It will look more impressive that you've observed SLPs at suchandsuch clinic for 50+ hrs than it would as 5 hrs here, 10 hrs there. To use myself as an example, I spent a 1 1/2 years at one specific school/clinic where I worked on a research study with an SLP, volunteered in the school with the children, volunteered at all of their fundraisers/parent programs/etc. and also worked at their summer camps where SLP grad students worked, and of course observed SLPs and audiologists. All of these things were opportunities housed at this 1 site. It shows admission committees your long-term dedication to a site and being involved in several different ways that are all directly related to this field. I still volunteered at other places through our NSSLHA chapter but I believe the more immersed you can be, the better it looks to the ad.comm., on your resume and even on your personal statement/LoI if you incorporate this experience in to your writing. Hope this helps!