A question about quitting

ladyinblack1964

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the cafe. This is my first time in grad school, and it may be my last.

I'm a student in a low-residency MFA in creative writing program. While I enjoyed residency, it has been one month since class started, and quite honestly, I hate it.

It's not even a question of "do you need the MFA?" and those debates that rage on the interwebs. I know one can be a writer without an MFA. I'm not even sure I want to be a writer. While I enjoy many hobbies (art, jewelry-making, playing with my pets), I'm not sure I want to devote my life to just one. I got the impression during residency that This Is Not a Hobby; It Is A Life.

Since I started classes, I've been in a minor panic every time there is an assignment. The instructors assure me I am doing well. It's more like, I am experiencing strong resistance. Today I am supposed to analyze four short stories and discuss point of view, diction and narrative distance. When I look at the stories, my eyelids want to shut and I just don't care.

My friends and family tell me "you can do it." Sure, I probably can. I just don't know if it is the right thing for me to be doing.

Anyone ever drop out of a grad program? Any advice? Thoughts, etc.?

Thank you for listening.

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the cafe. This is my first time in grad school, and it may be my last.

I'm a student in a low-residency MFA in creative writing program. While I enjoyed residency, it has been one month since class started, and quite honestly, I hate it.

It's not even a question of "do you need the MFA?" and those debates that rage on the interwebs. I know one can be a writer without an MFA. I'm not even sure I want to be a writer. While I enjoy many hobbies (art, jewelry-making, playing with my pets), I'm not sure I want to devote my life to just one. I got the impression during residency that This Is Not a Hobby; It Is A Life.