Wanting to apply to PhD programs close to home?

youngcharlie101

I'm a New York girl, and I feel pretty close to home, especially since I was sick for a long time and need my family, friends, and doctors close by.

I don't want to apply to schools too far away. Is it possible to become a competitive applicant and stick to schools that are close to home? 

I graduated from Columbia with my master's in anthropology, and I actually got accepted to Stony Brook for the PhD, but I deferred admission since it was unfunded and since I have some severe health issues that need to be taken care of before I commence my doctoral studies. 

Thanks in advance, all. :)

Well, it doesn't really make your application any less "competitive." But it significantly narrows down your options and chances of getting in.

While you have many choices because you live in NYC, places like Columbia and NYU may not be great fits depending on what your interests are and that is the problem with significantly narrowing down your geographical location. Not only can you pick schools close to you but those schools might not be great fits either.

It also depends how far you are able to go out of the area. Schools like Princeton and Yale aren't really that far from NYC.

I would also add that I think you should tread lightly. It's hard to be in the anthropology field without doing field work, or even any field in academia without the ability to move to different geographical locations to find employment. 

If this is something that will continue for the future and you won't be able to move around, I would think long and hard about entering academia.

I would also add that I think you should tread lightly. It's hard to be in the anthropology field without doing field work, or even any field in academia without the ability to move to different geographical locations to find employment.