Completing observation hours abroad

Question for any international students/3CKs/emigrants...Many of the US and Canadian unis I'm applying to require 25 observation hours before applying and I'm having trouble meeting the requirements as I live permanently elsewhere.

Though I've done observation with a speech language therapist in the country I live in and will continue to do so, she is only certified by the ASHA-type organisation here. There are no SLPs here certified by ASHA, and those that are certified by this country's national body have significantly less training than ASHA would require (example: the SLT I observed only took half-year of extra classes on top of her teaching degree to obtain it). Finding placements with another SLP is not possible.

The reply I received from one uni was that unless I'm applying as an international student, I'm required to do the observation with an ASHA-certified professional (or another national body with qualifications recognition by ASHA). The problem is, I'm not an international student, just a dual American/Canadian citizen who has rarely been in those countries.

In the only ASHA-recognised country I could afford to go to before the application deadlines, observations are only permitted after a series of expensive and time-consuming background checks which I cannot obtain as a non-resident. I could do the observations on Master Clinician, but is this sufficient? I've also thought of contacting a a Canadian/American SLP who may allow me to observe virtually, but scheduling that would be a bit of a nightmare. Either way, I can't very well take a week off work to fly across the world and do an observation in a place I know nobody before the application deadline.

Any thoughts?