I am the ghost of applicants past. Please heed my warning.

thePhDantom

I am a current PhD student in a top humanities program who will be leaving academia completely by the end of this year. I was once in many of your shoes: young, eager, intelligent, and excited by the prospect of attending graduate school. Now I am fleeing a corrupt and abusive situation by the skin of my teeth. Sadly, some of you reading right now will find yourselves in similar situations a few years from now. But it is my great hope that by sharing a few questions/guidelines/thoughts that I wish that I’d known to ask that the likelihood of this might be reduced. So, without further ado, here are the questions:

-       Is the program situated in a legitimate department or does it appear to be floating between departments? How many departments do the affiliated faculty in your program belong to? Where would you take your classes? Some PhD programs are smoke and mirrors, designed merely as a means of drawing additional funding to the undergrad side of the department. Beware of this ruse.

-       Do faculty seem too enthusiastic about you or your research? Do they seem to accept you too quickly? Does it seem like an amazing fit (rather than a professional relationship established on a foundation of mutual respect)? Err on the side of skepticism; the program’s aim may be to draw you in at any cost.

-       How do students feel about the city/town/neighborhoods where they live? Do they seem genuinely satisfied or do you get the sense that they’re stretching the truth? Some may tell you that location doesn’t matter—it does. A lot. Listen to your gut.

-       Do you get a tense, skittish, or otherwise “off” vibe from any of the faculty (particularly those who will have power over you)? Again, listen to your gut.