Applying to Chem. PhD's With Criminal Past

Hello, everyone,

I'm getting ready to apply to either Chemistry or Medicinal Chemistry PhD programs for Fall 2015, and I have some questions about my ability to be accepted with a past criminal record. My past convictions have all been misdemeanors, and all took place at least 7 years ago and have been completed with no court involvement since them.

Just so you know what the rest of my application looks like, I have completed a BS in Chemistry with a minor in mathematics, 3.55 overall GPA, I've been awarded a number of competitive research grants/fellowships during my undergraduate degree, including traveling to the NIH in Bethesda to present my Undergraduate research as part of a conference. I'm also an author of a research article published in a peer-reviewed journal. I also have extremely strong letters of recommendation from at least four different faculty members at my undergraduate university.

Now comes the tough part; my past convictions. My record lists a misdemeanor assault charge, resisting arrest, and a shoplifting charge. Again, all have been completed and were a result of some very unfortunate things that happened in my late teenage life, and were before I decided to go to college and become interested in science.

So... thoughts? I'm wondering if I should even be wasting the time applying, or if my applications are just going to get thrown in the trash. Thanks for the help.